Truck Driver of the Year 2017 (18 tonne) sponsored by Bridgestone

Mercedes-Benz, Wentworth Park | 13 September

DotY2017 18T Bridgestone RGB

The second day of Driver of the Year 2017 will showcase the talents of the 18 tonne drivers in Driver of the Year (18 tonne), sponsored by Bridgestone Tyres.

Each participant will compete in a variety of tasks and will be scored on their performance. The tasks each participant will compete in are below

  • Risk assessment supported by Licence Bureau - an online risk assessment test
  • Pre-use defect check supported by Bridgestone Partners - they must find a pre-set number of defects on a vehicle
  • Driving style supported by Microlise - drivers follow a set route with telematics recording their actions
  • Economical driving - the telematics will record their average fuel consumption
  • Manoeuvring - they must manoeuvr around a set course of cones
  • Legislation test - test prepared by the Member Advice Centre

The first place winner will receive a £1,000 holiday voucher with second and third place receiving an iPad and a Red Letter Day voucher worth £150 respectively.

The finalists for 2017 are;

Dave Hutchinson Alloga UK Limited
Gavin Tate Arla Foods
Clive Sutton Bibby Distribution Ltd
Robert Morris Bibby Distribution Ltd
Simon Patterson Booker ltd
Marc Ferguson BT
Craig Stewart Clarke International
Arthur Bartlett  DLG Auto Services  (UKAARC)
Guntis  Paberzis  Greggs PLC
Lee Hawkins Greggs PLC
Ionut Irimia Greggs PLC
Sean Preston Greggs PLC
Lee Rees Greggs PLC
Damien Rafferty M & A Doocey Plant Hire Ltd
Paul Neal O'Donovan Waste Disposal Ltd
Michael Pyrah P J Carey Group
Colin Wilson RiverRidge
Geriant  Edwards Seconds and Co 
Jamie Jarman Simply Waste Solutions
Pamela Dennison W.S.Dennison Ltd